|
|
| Author |
Message |
staffie8 Just Registered
Joined: 26 Aug 2007 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 6:17 pm Post subject: www.theselect.co.uk dropship company avoid them |
|
|
I wouldn't recommend www.theselect.co.uk dropship company to anyone.
RRP’s set too high, you can buy items cheaper on ebay!
electrical items are imports supplyed with travel charger.
they have little or no stock of most items so you have to buy goods first to gaurentee stock.The Only way to make your membership fee back is to sell their agent packs, using your good ebay feedback to con and trick other ebay members to sign up to them.
This makes the select a scamming pyramid scheme company hiding behind a legitimate looking front!!
Stay away from them!!
look at my web site to see the truth about the select drop ship company
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/w.....index.html
Has anyone else had dealings with them? |
|
| Back to top |
|
AuctionCUT Advertisement Sponsor
|
Posted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 6:17 pm Post subject: Recommendation: Auction Selling 101 |
|
|
|
|
| Back to top |
|
Mark Site Admin
Joined: 02 Aug 2005 Posts: 725
|
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 1:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Other ac members have had similar experiences with them. Would anyone recommend them?
| Quote: | I registered few weeks back. My experience with them is bad because the prices they offer are very non competitive. You also have to buy a minimum quantity to be able to reserve the item for you. The profit margins are exaggerated. You can find the same products on Ebay cheaper. Some of the products TheSelect is selling are cheaper on retailers such as Amazon, Ebuyer. Most of the prices fall within the vicinity of retail prices.
I have been trying to get my money back from them. But they are refusing. I haven’t used the service as I did not like the prices because it is hard to sell at those prices suggested by The Select if not impossible.
For example Ipod nano 4 gb on The Select Gold package (which is suppose to be their best package offering minimum prices and largest of profits) is £113.74. You can buy the same from Ebuyer.com ( A retailer) for £110
. Amazon's price is £114.99. The Select suggest the agent to sell the same product for £149.99.
I can get you prices of any package they have to offer and you can compare it yourselves. They mislead people in believing that they buy from the manufacturers and offer lowest prices, which is completely false as their prices are similar to retailers rather than whole sellers or drop shippers. They show on the page that profits can as high as 100%. That is possible if you sell the item on The Selects suggested retail price. But at their suggested retail price it is impossible to sell.
Their customer service does reply quickly. But they don’t have answers for your questions; they just try to evade them.
My sincere suggestion. Stay clear! |
|
|
| Back to top |
|
omgbay Member
Joined: 15 Jul 2007 Posts: 23 Location: OMGbay.com !!!
|
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the heads up. The ratio of legit dropshippers to scammers must be 1 in a million  |
|
| Back to top |
|
images Just Registered
Joined: 11 Nov 2006 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:16 am Post subject: If you are asked to pay to join or register DONT |
|
|
| Legit companies dont ask you to pay to join or register with their wholesale co they will ask you for trade details and refs but if you are asked to pay to join DONT. |
|
| Back to top |
|
zanzebar Contributor
Joined: 11 Sep 2007 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 8:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| true there are a lot of scams |
|
| Back to top |
|
thompjam Just Registered
Joined: 19 Nov 2007 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:26 pm Post subject: THESELECT.CO.UK |
|
|
I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH SELECT.CO.UK THEY ARE ROBBING GITS! I AGREE WITH ALL THE COMMENT HERE "NO ONE" SUBSCRIBE TO THEM!
THE MANAGING DIRECTOR IS A BLOKE CALLED BEN, AND I POINTED OUT ABOUT 10 PRODUCTS TO HIM THAT WERE "CHEAPER" ON AMAZON AND EBAY!
NOT ONLY THAT THEY HAVE F**K ALL YOU CAN BUY TO SELL ON AND MAKE ANY KIND OF PROFIT! I TOLD HIM TO REFUND MY MONEY AND IF I SEE ANY MONEY LEAVING MY ACCOUNT I WILL CLAIM MY £99.99 BACK THROUGH MY BANK! ALL THEIR RRP PRICES ARE HIGHER THAN RETAIL ANYWAY
PLEASE EVERYONE STAY AWAY, THE COMPANY ARE NOTHING BUT CROOKS! OUT TO TAKE YOU MONEY SO THAT THERE IS NOTHING TO BUY FROM THEM!
VERY MISLEADING THAT THEY WILL GIVE YOU 40 - 80% DISCOUNT ON PRODUCTS, THERE ARE PROBABLY ABOUT 2 PRODUCTS YOU CAN BUY THAT GIVE THIS DISCOUNT!!! |
|
| Back to top |
|
Mark Site Admin
Joined: 02 Aug 2005 Posts: 725
|
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 7:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Has anyone had a good experience with TheSelect? |
|
| Back to top |
|
snap3 Contributor
Joined: 22 Nov 2007 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
I just viewd their items and yes you can get them a lot cheaper from other stores in ebay  |
|
| Back to top |
|
faze3 Just Registered
Joined: 01 Dec 2007 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 1:43 pm Post subject: Re: If you are asked to pay to join or register DONT |
|
|
| images wrote: | | Legit companies dont ask you to pay to join or register with their wholesale co they will ask you for trade details and refs but if you are asked to pay to join DONT. |
Not true - there are plenty of good dropshipping companies that charge a joining fee. If you were buying off a dropshipper and found your customers could go and buy from the same source you wouldn't be very happy. It's easy to con a dropshipper that you are a business if you really want to so 25 to 50 quid is enough to put the general public off trying to buy a one-off.
Agree with other posts about The Select though - don't go near them. |
|
| Back to top |
|
alfyopare Just Registered
Joined: 02 Dec 2007 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
that company. The select is the reason why i lost my eBay account and Amazon account. I sold a lot of stuff for them on Amazon and eBay during Christmas two years ago , only to realise they didn't actually have the items in stock. my customers were livid, i got tonnes of negative feedback and was booted of eBay and amazon i was devastated. they are cheats and liars. you could buy stuff of eBay cheaper than their so called wholesale prices.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
Tarq123 Just Registered
Joined: 25 Feb 2008 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:15 pm Post subject: Dropshipping The Select |
|
|
Hi joined The Select about 4 months ago and some of the UK items are more than the imports but i am selling well and in profit and have upgraded my account.
It did take me a while to undertand the reserve system but now very good!
Tarq123 |
|
| Back to top |
|
ErickaJ Contributor
Joined: 25 Feb 2008 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 9:37 pm Post subject: I won't use dropshippers |
|
|
| I agree. A lot of the dropshippers are scammers. I also don't like to use them because I want to be in control of shipping the product. |
|
| Back to top |
|
solution81 Contributor
Joined: 22 Mar 2008 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
| You really shouldn't be using a dropshipper in the first place. They are mostly scammers who's out to make a quick buck or two. eBay is a highly competitive venue and your prices have to be low enough to compete. With dropshipping, chances are you will not get a good price. |
|
| Back to top |
|
Aleron Just Registered
Joined: 06 May 2008 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Tue May 06, 2008 8:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Unfortunataly Ebey users HAVE to use dropshippers, most dropshippers not only charge you for the product, but also charge a large fee for themselves, then add postage and packing to that.
I am a video game retailer and use Gem and Centresoft, the same companies that sell to Game and PC World in the high street.
They did not charge a setup fee but required my registered company information as well as a minimum spend of 500 pounds per order.
Howvever, they do not charge delivery, nor do they add a large fee for themselves.
Gem and Centresoft are also EXCLUSIVE distributers (not wholesale or dropship, but real distributers) for Microsoft and EA games, which means places like The Select are getting their games and other products from real distributers, so not only are you paying their fee, but you are paying the fee for them to buy the game as well, whereas Gem and Centresoft get their games direct from the publisher.
And, since they are real distributers, you can ask to see a price list before you set up an account, unliked The Select.
However, Ebey users are not allowed to buy from Gem or Centresoft, since they sell to retailers only, which leaves scammers like The Select open for rip offs and are protected from being sued because the people with money to sue them do not use ebay in the first place. |
|
| Back to top |
|
|