|
|
| Author |
Message |
Auctomize Contributor
Joined: 20 Mar 2008 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 3:11 pm Post subject: IMPORTANT!! PHISING SCAM! |
|
|
I opened my email today and the title read: Question from eBay member
It showed user name: itsybitsyspider0324
It looked just like a regular ebay email and the person asked:
"I'm new to eBay, my first tranaction. I'm waiting to receive my package to leave feedback. Wasn't sure if I needed to contact you or not. I'm trying to get some feedback established to start selling myself.
Please be kind!
Looking forward"
..I was thinking huh?? New...but had 430 feedbacks according to the email.
Anyways I opened it up the link for the item url.. and noticed it was pointing to:
http://d4rkfr4ud.pochta.ru/index.txt
The page looks just like ebay's. Don't enter your information if the url is not of ebay's. |
|
| Back to top |
|
AuctionCUT Advertisement Sponsor
|
Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 3:11 pm Post subject: Recommendation: Auction Selling 101 |
|
|
|
|
| Back to top |
|
Mark Site Admin
Joined: 02 Aug 2005 Posts: 727
|
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Fortunately the page has been taken down now. Thanks for the advice |
|
| Back to top |
|
einarsss Just Registered
Joined: 03 Jun 2008 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 11:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
ahaahahaah  |
|
| Back to top |
|
alliyyang Banned User
Joined: 06 Jun 2008 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:11 am Post subject: Re: IMPORTANT!! PHISING SCAM! |
|
|
Thanks, it is so helpful.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
nochkin Contributor
Joined: 19 Apr 2008 Posts: 7 Location: New York
|
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you are not sure when it's a scam or not:
Firefox browser is quick to catch up on those.
Or you can check your link on http://www.phishtank.com/ |
|
| Back to top |
|
patzer Contributor
Joined: 27 Jun 2008 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 3:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
I got the same email! Have to be very careful. always log into your ebay account to check and see if its legit.
-Patz |
|
| Back to top |
|
|